Tags

, , , , , , ,

Maybe it’s a blogging faux paus to write about something I (gasp!) bought at a store, rather than making completely from scratch, but as I’m sitting here eating my beef and broccoli leftovers I just really want to pass on the knowledge of one of my most favorite (and easiest meals). Not to mention this is the perfect opportunity to write about why Trader Joe’s (in my mind) surpasses even Disneyland as the Happiest Place on Earth. Am I exaggerating? Only a little bit. Let’s be honest, where else can you find organic virgin coconut oil in a jar? Where else is low-fat coconut milk only 99 cents a can? And lest you think their wonders are confined to the realm of the coconut, think again! There’s pumpkin pancake mix, frozen pork potstickers, frozen garlic naan (frozen food never tasted better), seasonal teas like Candy Cane Peppermint goodness, and who can forget to mention 2 buck Chuck?

So now that we’ve established that Trader Joe’s is BOMB, here’s one of my all-time favorite products: Korean style marinated beef. I won’t lie, it’s not cheap at an average of about $9 for a package. (Although it will feed 3 people, so that becomes only $3 a person which is not too spendy compared to a meal out.) So splurge a little – you’ll be glad you did!

Trader Joe’s Korean Beef and Broccoli

1 package Korean style marinated beef
1 head broccoli
2 cloves garlic
a dash of oil: coconut, as I used, or canola or vegetable
soy sauce to taste

Chop the meat into small pieces (the smaller, the faster they will cook). Rinse broccoli, trim stems, and chop into smaller pieces. Mince garlic.

Heat oil in a pan or wok. Add garlic and saute for 2-3 minutes. Add meat, cooking until browned. Add broccoli and continue to saute until broccoli is cooked through. Although the meat has its own (delicious) marinade, I often add a bit of soy sauce at this point. If the meat is pretty much cooked but I’m waiting on the broccoli, I will usually cover the pan with a lid, turn down the heat to low, and steam the broccoli until it is finished.

Serve over rice. Enjoy!

