Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I finally bought a muffin tin. Finally. And a whole new world has been opened up to me…beginning with this scrumptious recipe that I’d been eyeing from Smitten Kitchen for some time. It’s December now, but back when I made these it was in the midst of a gloriously sunny autumn, and I was overflowing with apples. This recipe was probably my favorite to use up those extra apples because it was very forgiving when I used old apples. Secondly, this freeze well and taste almost as good out of the freezer as they do fresh – I have a good stash in my freezer and I just pop one out to add to my lunch every day. It thaws by the time I want to eat it. It’s a perfect rhythm. And last but not least, the combination of whole wheat and apples makes it a healthy snack (at least healthier than other things I COULD be baking)!

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins:
From Smitten Kitchen

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed, divided
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 cup (8 ounces) buttermilk or yogurt
2 large apples, peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 450°F. If you are using a muffin pan, grease and flour. If you’re using liners, which are much easier and less mess and make for better pictures, then just pop ’em in the pan, and you’re good to go.

Mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and set aside. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and add the granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of the brown sugar. Beat until fluffy. Add the egg and mix well. Mix in the buttermilk gently. (If you over-mix, the buttermilk will cause the mixture to curdle.) Stir in the dry ingredients and fold in the apple chunks.

Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups, sprinkling the remaining 1/4 cup brown sugar on top. Bake for 10 minutes, turn the heat down to 400°F, and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool the muffins for 5 minutes in the tin, then turn them out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Eat and enjoy! Alternatively, freeze and enjoy later!

