Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

My mouth is watering just thinking about this recipe. My parents came up for a weekend earlier in the fall and while they were here, my mom and I wanted to cook up something delicious. I had this recipe bookmarked (from Smitten Kitchen, where else?) and I jumped at the chance to use it – with someone else paying for the marsala and chicken. 🙂 And let me tell you, this recipe was a HIT. I’ve made it once more since that first time and I have enough marsala to do it again…I just need to make sure I have enough of everything else! (Especially the mushrooms…don’t skimp on the mushrooms…they are SO GOOD. If you don’t like mushrooms, this is not the recipe for you.)

And one more thing, if you’re looking to make a whole, delicious meal out of this, I suggest serving the chicken marsala over angelhair pasta with a glass of wine and some toasty bread. A side of vegetables is probably also a good nutritional choice. My mom and I served this with spicy braised kale, rosemary garlic bread, and merlot. I’d have to say, it was one of my favorite meals of 2011.

 

Chicken Marsala:
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Serves 6 (When cooking for just me, I halve the recipe and have amazing leftovers the next day)

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved (I cut the pieces smaller to cook faster, so that’s an option as well)
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 onion, sliced thin
3/4 pound mushrooms, sliced thin
1/2 cup Marsala
1 cup chicken broth
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley leaves, optional

Pat chicken dry and season with salt and pepper. In a large heavy skillet heat oil and 1 1/2 tablespoons butter over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking and brown chicken. (You may need to do this in two batches, but I managed to squeeze mine all in one.)

SautĂ© onion and mushrooms in the same pan with the butter-oil-fat mixture (doesn’t that just sound appetizing) from the chicken, stirring occasionally, until liquid mushrooms give off is evaporated. Add marsala and cook mixture, stirring, for 5-10 minutes. Smitten Kitchen calls for the marsala to cook off until it’s almost all evaporated but I prefer more liquid. Add broth and chicken with any juices that have accumulated on plate and simmer, turning chicken once, until cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Add salt and pepper to taste and garnish with parsley.

