Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I haven’t blogged on here in so long, it’s almost unforgivable. I have no excuses, other than the fact that I’ve been busy and lazy and I tend to blog when I’m not using my laptop that has all my pictures of food on it. But fear not, I intent to post everything that I am behind on.

I’m sure that all of my faithful readers (all two of you) have been dying to know what I did with those apples pictured in my previous post. Well, you’re the best for waiting two+ months to find out. The answer is that I turned them into delicious apple cheddar scones! Another recipe straight from Smitten Kitchen (my food blog could basically be dedicated to Smitten Kitchen…as you will find, I’m simply reposting many of her recipes with my pictures) because, you know, Smitten Kitchen is simply the best.

These scones are a little more work-intensive than other scones (and trust me, I’ve been on a scone kick lately, so I know), but it really pays off in the end. They can be frozen unbaked: simply cut them into desired scone shape, place them on a tray in the freezer, freeze until they are hard, and then you can put them into ziplock bags and leave them until you’re ready for a hot scone for breakfast or an afternoon snack. The best part? You don’t even have to thaw them, just add a couple minutes to the baking time and you are good to go.

Apple Cheddar Scones:
From Smitten Kitchen

2-3 firm tart apples (confession: I used old apples, and they worked beautifully)
1 1/2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar plus some for sprinkling
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup sharp cheddar, shredded
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 °F.

Peel and core the apples, then cut into chunks. Place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake until they have a little color and feel dry to the touch. This should take about 20 minutes (mine were closer to 15 but I have an exceptionally hot oven). The apple chunks will then be half-baked (mmmmm half-baked, my favorite Ben&Jerry’s ice cream!). They need to be cooled completely, either on the counter or (to expediate the process) in the fridge. When I made these, I did the scones in two steps and left the apple chunks in the fridge for a day. They were fine. Note: If you are doing this project in one day then leave the oven on to remain pre-heated for your scones!

Sift or whisk flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together. Now, if you have a mixer you can refer to Smitten Kitchen’s instructions on this part, but for me, I just used my hands because I have no electric mixer. Using a pastry blender, rub butter chunks into flour mixture. Add the apple chunks (they made need to be chopped coarsely if they are large chunks), cheese, cream, and one egg and mix together with a wooden spoon. This will be a sticky mess, but trust me, it’s a delicious sticky mess.

Flour your counter top, place the dough on it, and sprinkle with additional flour. Roll or pat the dough into a 1 1/4-inch thick, 6-inch circle. Cut the circle into wedges (mine made 8). Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, leaving a couple inches between scones. Beat the remaining egg in a small bowl with a pinch of salt. Brush the scones with the egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. Bake until firm and golden, about 30 minutes. Cool for about 10 minutes before eating.

